Order of Rick Riordan Books: Complete Guide for Superfans

Order of Rick Riordan Books
Order of Rick Riordan Books: Complete Guide for Superfans 11

People ask us all the time “What is the order of Rick Riordan books?” We consulted with our kids and family who all came to the same conclusion.

Rick Riordan has become a household name that is synonymous with greek mythology retellings. Beyond that, his books are readable, relatable, and completely addicting. Below you will find information about the order of Rick Riordan books: A complete guide for superfans.

*Post contains affiliate links. Purchases made through links result in a small commission to us at no cost to you.

Who is Rick Riordan?

Rick Riordan is a New York Times Best-selling author of over 20 novels for middle-grader readers which is not surprising because he used to be a middle school teacher! Man, I wish he was my teacher.

Rick Riordan’s books are in print in 37 different countries and have over 190 million copies in print.
Rick Riordan’s first series is Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

In What Order Should I Read Rick Riordan Books?

People ask us all the time “What is the order of Rick Riordan books?” We consulted with our kids and family who all came to the same conclusion.
As long as you read Percy Jackson and the Olympians first, you can read any of the other series afterward. Why read Percy Jackson first? He is a character in many of the other books so it is very helpful if you know who he is.

Order of Rick Riordan Books by Series

  • Percy Jackson and The Olympians
  • Kane Chronicles
  • Heroes of Olympus
  • Magnus Chase
  • Trials of Apollo
  • Daughters of the Deep

Order of Rick Riordan Books: Percy Jackson
( Series #1)

What is Percy Jackson About?

In this series, the main character of the book, Percy Jackson, is given a quest via an oracle. He must complete the tasks in order to avoid grave consequences. The Percy Jackson books each have one quest that becomes more dangerous. The story revolved around Percy, his friends Annabeth and Grover, and their life in and beyond Camp Half-Blood.

Percy Jackson Books in Order

If you LOVE graphic novels, be sure to check out the series in graphic novel format!

Red with X Band Logo 6

Books Like Percy Jackson for Fans to Love

Rick Riordan is adding another book (or 3) to the Percy Jackson series in 2023. To hold everyone over, we have updated the list of our favorite books like Percy Jackson.

Order of Rick Riordan Books: Kane chronicles (Series #2)

What is Kane Chronicles About?

Rick Riordan’s second series, The Kane Chronicles, is a series based on Egyptian mythology. Carter and Sadie Kane have been split up their entire lives and must learn to use their Egyptian magic to defeat Egyptian Gods and monsters to protect their home world.

Kane Chronicles Books in Order

Order of Rick Riordan Books: Heroes of Olympus (Series #3)

What is The Heroes of Olympus Series About?

In this series, each chapter is told from the point of view of different characters. Percy and Jason are two of the main characters and both of them have lost their memories. They are sent to two different camps (Greek and Roman) where they make friends and enlist their friends to help them on their quests.

Rick Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus Books in Order

percy jackson header

Epic Guide to Percy Jackson Books

Already read and loved Percy Jackson? We created an Epic Guide to all things Pecy and if you love that series, we have a list of Books Like Percy Jackson just for you.

Order of Rick Riordan Books: Magnus Chase
(Series #4)

What is Magnus Chase About?

The fourth series of books by Rick Riordan, Magnus Chase, is based on Norse Mythology. Magnus Chase dies in battle and is brought to Valhalla where he is given the task of bringing back a powerful weapon to keep the monsters at bay and stop Ragnarok from destroying everything.

Rick Riordan’s Magnus Chase Books in Order

Order of Rick Riordan Books: Trials of Apollo (Series #5)

What is The Trials of Apollo About?

The Trials of Apollo is the fifth series written by Rick Riordan. In these 5 books, Apollo is sent to earth as a mortal. In order to obtain his immortality, Apollo is sent on five different quests by the god Zeus. He is helped by his companion, Meg who is the daughter of Demeter.

Rick Riordan’s Trials of Apollo Books in Order

What is Rick Riordan’s Newest Book Series?

Rick Riordan’s newest book series is called Daughter of the Deep. Stay tuned for the newest information on when the next book will be released. Sometime soon, we hope.

Daughter of the Deep and more books like Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

Daughter of the Deep by Rick Riordan

This book is the newest in a series of fantasy books for tweens by Rick Riordan. Ana and her brother Dev are students at Harding Pencfoft academy, a school that specializes in marine science. When Ana heads out on an expedition, the school is bombed and Ana believes everyone has died.

With only her brother left in her family, Ana is desperate to find out what happened and who bombed the school. The Professor who accompanied them on the trip informs them that Land Institute and H-P have been fighting in a war for over 150 years.

We are also eagerly anticipating a brand new book in May 2023

the sun and the star

From the World of Percy Jackson: The Sun and the Star Hardcover by Rick Riordan

Release Date: May 2

Plot: Percy Jackson fans, rejoice! Nico and Will have a book of their own!

As the son of Hades, Nico di Angelo has been through so much, from the premature deaths of his mother and sister, to being outed against his will, to losing his friend Jason during the trials of Apollo. But there is a ray of sunshine in his life—literally: his boyfriend, Will Solace, the son of Apollo. Together the two demigods can overcome any obstacle or foe. At least, that’s been the case so far…

This is one of the new children’s books I plan to pre-order.

rick riordan presents

What is Rick Riordan Presents?

Rick Riordan Presents is part of Disney-Hyperion Publishing. It is a small imprint that tries to publish 4 novels a year. Rick Riordan and his editor choose these novels as books that will appeal to fans of his books. So, if you have a middle grade adventure lover, these books are a perfect choice.

The other purpose of these books is to tell stories from cultures and backgrounds that are often underrepresented in books in their own voice. These are stories inspired by mythology and folklore.

Looking For More Great Kids’ Books by Age?

Copy of headers 8

For more middle-grade books, check out our list of books for 10-year-old

For more middle-grade books, check out our list of books for 11-year-old

Copy of headers 8 1
Copy of headers 9

For more middle-grade books, check out our list of books for 12-year-old

For more middle-grade books, check out our list of books for 13-year-old

Copy of headers 10 1

What is your favorite Rick Riordan book and did you read them in order?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.